Line numbers

Thread: Line numbers

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Line numbers

I'm new to NC coding, and I need to know if lines HAVE to be numbered in chronological sequence: N1
    N2
    N3 etc.
    Would an M98 sub pgm. call have to have the same line number as the sub programme?

Thanks, Barry.

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

I think the correct answer is, it depends......

Most machine controllers don't care about the line numbers most of the time.

Some older controllers might care all of the time.

There are certain times that most all controllers care about the order. For instance in the G7x series of lathe canned cycles, N block/line numbers must be included, they must follow a certain order and most of all, must be unique, not duplicated anywhere else in the program.

John

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by John3 View Post
    I think the correct answer is, it depends......

Most machine controllers don't care about the line numbers most of the time.

Some older controllers might care all of the time.

There are certain times that most all controllers care about the order. For instance in the G7x series of lathe canned cycles, N block/line numbers must be included, they must follow a certain order and most of all, must be unique, not duplicated anywhere else in the program.

John
    Hi John, the controller is Ultimax on a new Hurco VM2 mill. Similar to Fanuc I believe.

Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by batmill View Post
    .... Would an M98 sub pgm. call have to have the same line number as the sub programme?

Thanks, Barry.
    I think the M98 call needs the program number not a line number; it is an external call. M97 is an internal call to a line number in the same program. The letter used to label the program number or line number is different for different machines but I think the M98 calling outside the program and M97 within the program is universal.